I baked my very first cake when I was 9 years old.  It was a Belgian Loaf cake.  I loved this cake.  It was the best thing I had ever tasted (and generally I only ever tasted the wet ingredients and not the actual cake because I don’t eat sultana’s).  Eventually my parents had to ask me to take it easy on the baking.

belgian1
Not my actual baking…

 

I also made plenty of raw eggs on burnt toast and lukewarm coffee.  My poor parents had to fake many a full stomach and waitress smile to keep me from making them more!  But I loved cooking and baking.  When I wanted to bake, I would ask my parents to invite someone over for tea and cake.  Sometimes I wonder if their social lives started because of my constant desire to bake stuff.

young-girl-cooking-while-parents-work-at-citrus-packing-plant-winterhaven-G17XXG
Not me…I always used every dish in the kitchen…

 

My favourite thing to do was make up recipes.  I could get inventive when I put my mind to it.  I also enjoyed making new things from a recipe  book.  Some you win, others you loose lol!  Ready, Steady, Cook had to be my all time favourite TV series, I never missed an episode!rsc1

I was thinking about what I am going to do for Mandela Day next week.  I think I will cook and bake something and invite someone around to enjoy it with me…

Chez

